Lyon County Sheriff  © 2014 All rights reserved   |   WebClimber Services - George, Iowa




Sheriff Stewart Vander Stoep

Sheriff Vander Stoep has been employed with the Sheriff’s Department for 27 years.  He was a patrol officer from 1985 to 2000.  In 2001 he took over the dual role as Chief Deputy and as the Jail Administrator.  VanderStoep has been the DARE officer for the Lyon County Schools since the programs start in 1995. In 2013 Stewart was elected as Sheriff of Lyon County.


Rock Rapids Police Department for 4 years

Sioux Center Police Department for 1 ½ years

Associates Degree from Western Iowa Tech


When not at work, Stewart enjoys spending time with his wife and three children.



Sheriff Stewart VanderStoep

Chief Deputy Rob Ver Meer

Deputy Mark Dorhout: Civil Division

Deputy Michael Hilt

Deputy Chad Klosterbuer: Warrants Divison

Deputy William Minor

Deputy Jake Rohwer

Deputy Kyle Munneke: Narcotics Investigator

Deputy Nathan Rozeboom

Deputy Amy Stoner: Detective

Deputy Alex Waagmeester: S.O.R./Evidence  

Deputy Kyle Lems


(712) 472-8310      

(712) 472-8315          

(712) 472-8318

(712) 472-8350

(712) 472-8314      

(712) 472-8316

(712) 472-8319   (712) 472-8313

(712) 472-8312

(712) 472-8326

(712) 472-8311  

(712) 472-8350