Lyon County Sheriff  © 2014 All rights reserved   |   WebClimber Services - George, Iowa

JAIL / DETENTION

 
 

WEAPONS PERMITS AND INFORMATION

IOWA SHERIFF 

PROCEDURES FOR PERMIT TO CARRY WEAPONS AND PERMIT TO PURCHASE WEAPONS

 

An Iowa Non-Professional Permit to Carry is valid for five years.

 

Application procedures for a Non-Professional Permit to Carry a weapon:

• Lyon County residents apply at the Lyon County Sheriff’s Office.

• Submit a completed application form in person to the Lyon County Sheriff’s Office. Forms are

           available on this website or we have forms available at the office.

• Submit a completed certified handgun safety training course form or military DD-214 form.

• Provide a form of picture identification.

• Applicant must be at least 21 years of age.

• Must meet all applicable requirements in Iowa Code Chapter 724.

• Pay the required $50.00 fee for a new permit or $25.00 fee for a renewal permit.

 

An Iowa Permit to Acquire is valid for one year.

 

Application procedures for a Permit to Acquire handguns:

• Lyon County residents apply at the Lyon County Sheriff’s Office.

• Submit a completed application form in person the Lyon County Sheriff’s Office. Forms are    

           available on this website or we have forms available at the office.

• Provide a form of picture identification.

• Applicant must be at least 21 years of age.

• Must meet all applicable requirements in Iowa Code Chapter 724.

• Pay the required $10.00 fee.

 

Identification Card: An dentication card for weapon permit holders are available for a fee of $10.00.  As for now, appointments must be made by calling 712-472-8300 to obtain a card.

 

 

RESOURCES

Iowa Firearm Laws

Federal Firearm Laws

VISITATION POLICY

 

1) General visitation will be limited to the approved visitor list at the designated time in the no contact visitation booths. Inmate will prepare a list with no more than five (5) names (including children) on the list.

2) The list will include the name, relationship, and date of birth.  The list must be turned in 4 days prior to visitation.

a. It is the inmate’s responsibility to inform their visitors of the designated day and time of visitation.

b. If the person is a minor, (under the age of 18) a parent or guardian will accompany them. The minor will be counted as one (1) visitor and the accompanying parent or guardian will be counted as one (1) visitor.  The minor will be supervised at all times or the minor and the accompanying adult will be escorted from the facility.

 

3) The length of the visitation may be prorated based on the number of visitors, inmates, and Jail Officer time.

 

4) Inmates of the Lyon County Jail, released within the past ninety (90) days, will not be allowed to visit another inmate of the Lyon County Jail.  An exception may be made for immediate family.

 

5) Inmates on certain type of disciplinary restrictions may not be permitted visitors. Judgment will prevail over rigid enforcement of the rules under special circumstances. (e.g. family has traveled a considerable distance and could not make it on the regular visiting day or hour). This decision will rest with the Jail Administrator and his decision will be final.

 

6) If any officer has probable cause, he or she may search a visitor to ensure the security and orderly operation of the jail.

 

7) Coats, handbags, sacks, parcels, and smoking are prohibited in the visiting area.

 

8) Jail staff will be in the facility area at all times during any visit.

 

9) A visit may be denied if reasonable suspicion exists that the visit might endanger the

security of the facility or the visitor does not have a photo ID.  A record will be made of such denial and the reason thereof.

 

10) Visitors will go to the reception window, staff will document the date, time, name, address, name of person visited.  Computerized logs are acceptable.

 

11) VISITORS WILL NOT BE ALLOWED TO BRING ANY ITEMS FOR THE INMATES!

 

12) ALL VISITORS MUST HAVE A VALID ID 

 

 

 

 

MENU